Be witty, or be silent

Posted: March 5, 2010 in Random thought
Tags: , , , , , ,

As most of you may or may not know, I am a die-hard Chicago Bears fan living here in Wisconsin. Having grown up in Chicago I am still getting accustomed to being looked at as a leper when I wear any Bears attire at grocery stores, shopping malls, my front lawn, etc… I have been a sports fan my entire life so I understand that trash talk simply comes with the territory but there is a particular brand of mindless, self indulgent banter that never ceases to amaze me. I was so close to forgetting that this verbal diarrhea  even existed until I was sharply reminded that morons like this still exist while at the grocery store tonight.  I heard the infamous phrase come wafting down the aisle until it struck my ear drums with a sting that can only be administered from somebody with an IQ so low he would make Paris Hilton look like a scholar. “Hey – how’d the Bears do this year?”, he said, cackling as if he’d really gotten me with that quick wit. What the fuck does that even mean? Did he want me to tell him what the Bears record was? Should I have given him a run down of how successful their free agent signings were? It was hardly even worth responding to as this guy was obviously still stuck in 1967 and his vocabulary is limited to “Ice Bowl”, “Lambeau” and whatever noises come out of his ass when he rolls himself from the couch. But I couldn’t help myself. He had to know how stupid he was, because it became readily apparent to me that he had no idea.

If you’re going to give me shit for being an out of town fan, do it intelligently. Any time I hear trash talk like that it’s usually a dead giveaway that the person speaking talks simply to hear himself talk. It’s these kind of mouth breathing, meat head, shit-for-brains fans that can give any city a bad name. Have something to say? then pretend, for a minute, that you’re not completely incoherent and please take the time to at least come up with something that makes sense. If you’re going to ask me something as basic as how my team did with the intention of insulting me, I’ll be sure to let you know just how much of a dumb ass you really are.

Bookmark and Share

Comments
  1. Bill says:

    It’s like a religious cult…they excpect you to convert to the Church of Packer Nation when you move to Wisconsin, but when they move to other parts of the country they proudly retain their inner Packer-ness, maybe marry a non-Packer fan & convert him or her, and breed a new generation of Packer fans, like a virus spreading across the country.

  2. Lauren says:

    Wait – remind me – how did the bears do this year?

  3. Tim says:

    They did the same as the Packers did Lauren. Because everyone in the NFL knows that if you’re not in first, you’re last. Super Bowl Champion is all that matters.

Leave a Reply

