Darwin was right…

Posted: February 26, 2010 in Whatever
Tags: , ,

When I first started this blog I feared it would eventually become difficult to continually come up with new material. Lucky for me, I can count on two things: 1) I will always have an opinion on almost everything and 2) there is never a shortage of somebody somewhere doing something so stupid that I can’t help myself.

In case you haven’t heard by now Tilikum, a 12,000 pound killer whale at Orlando’s Seaworld, dragged his trainer into the water subsequently killing her. While this is tragic, I feel the need to point a few things out. First of all, this isn’t Tilikum’s first charge of assault with a deadly persona… or the second. This marks the third time the killer whale has lived up to his name’s suggestion. Call me crazy but I wouldn’t want to be anywhere near something living that outweighs me by 11,800 lbs (Ok…. 11,770). Second, have you ever watched a dog at play that got too excited? Chances are he bit someone and that recipient wasn’t too enthused. Now imagine that dog at 6 tons – boom – serial killer.  I’m sorry (kind of) but I have no sympathy for someone who gets killed doing something idiotic. The hardest part for me to understand is the fact that this happens all the time and these dumb asses keep lining up to be the next “Darwin of the year” finalist. Wildlife photographers, Siegfried and Roy, that woman who got her face ripped off by her pet chimp….COME ON!!

If only somebody would do something to ensure this nonsense doesn’t continue… Good thing Chuck Tompkins, chief of animal training at Seaworld is on top of it- promising, “We’re going to make any changes we have to to make sure this doesn’t happen again”. Sorry Chuck but what’s the saying?…. fool me once- shame on you, fool me three times and you’re an incompetent numb nuts? I’ll accept “this won’t happen again” from a 5 year-old, but not from somebody with his level of responsibility (except politicians, of course).

Humans do a lot of stupid things on a daily basis (see: Year 2000 Presidential Election) but I can’t come to grips with the fact that in these cases the ass clowns always end up blaming the animal. Pay attention, this next part is important: if you follow a lion into the wild with a camera- chances are you’ll have a limb removed, if you force a tiger to jump through hoops of fire and perform tricks – chances are you’ll be torn apart, if you own a 200 pound chimpanzee and give it Xanax – chances are he’ll rip your face off and finally…drum roll please… if you attempt to handle a 6 ton killer whale with 2 priors on his record – CHANCES ARE YOU’LL BE DRAGGED INTO THE WATER AND KILLED. So the next time somebody is crushed by an elephant or otherwise moronically eradicated; remember that it is not the first time and sure as hell won’t be the last.

Bookmark and Share

Comments
  1. J-Money says:

    Think of the killer whale for once. He needs these dumb people to keep his rep. If he doesn’t kill someone every once in awhile what are they going to advertise? “Come see Tilikum, the overly sedated whale!” I’m not going to that show. Promise me there’s at least a chance of someone dying and I’m in the front row rooting for blood. That whale just earned himself (herself?) a 10 year contract extension.

  2. Bill says:

    Wonder if they have a “blood zone” at his shows like they have the “splash zone” for dolphin shows.

  3. Social comments and analytics for this post…

    This post was mentioned on Twitter by Fatchops51: Darwin was right…: http://wp.me/pP9DV-1i

Leave a Reply

